The Board of the Internet of Things Alliance Australia, IoTAA, has today been formally appointed.

Operating at the interface of industry, government, research and communities, the Board comprises an impressive group of senior national and international leaders in their fields.

Gavin Smith, the President and Chairman of Robert Bosch Australia, a leading global technology and services company has been appointed as the first Chair of the new Board.

“Our key challenge is to encourage understanding and collaboration across industry, government, research and communities”, Gavin Smith said. “Only by doing this will we accelerate IoT innovation and adoption, and contribute to economic prosperity and social benefit in Australia”.

The Board

The inaugural Board of IoTAA has seven members:

Mr Gavin Smith, Chair: President and Chairman of Robert Bosch Australia, a regional subsidiary of the global Bosch group.

Professor Bronwyn Harch is the Executive Director of the Institute for Future Environments (IFE) and Professor of Applied Statistical Science at Queensland University of Technology.

Dr Mike Briers AO: Australia’s first Industry Professor of IoT at the University of Technology Sydney, and co-founder and Director of the Internet of Things Alliance Australia and Hypercat Australia.

Ms Johanna Plante: Chairperson of Australian Communications Consumer Action Network, (ACCAN), past roles include the ACCC; ACMA; Telstra and the Prime Minister’s Science, Engineering and Innovation Council.

Ms Nicole Lockwood: Principal of Lockwood Advisory, member of the Water Corporation, Tourism WA and Infrastructure Australia Boards, Chair of the Freight and Logistics Council.

Mr Stuart Waite: start-up investor, advisor, entrepreneur and digital transformation consultant with over 20 years’ experience in digital media.

Mr Warren Lemmens: Chief Technology Officer for Nokia in the Oceania Region. He is a specialist in connectedness and IoT. In his career Warren has consulted widely across the Asia Pacific region.

More on the Board can be found at http://www.iot.org.au/board/

IoTAA Board members, left to right: Johanna Plant, Gavin Smith, Stuart Waite, Warren Lemmens, Frank Zeichner. (Members not pictured: Nicole Lockwood, Bronwyn Harch, Mike Briers).

About IoT

The IoT is the next wave of digital transformation. IoT uses sensors, internet connectivity, analytics, applications and advanced visualisation to translate the physical into digital. IoT can collect and shape data sources, analyse to gain insights, optimise systems and enable data-driven user assistance and automation. IoT-related applications have the potential to revolutionise supply chains and entire industrial sectors and create efficiencies that will be game-changers for society and economies.

Various analysts forecast the global impact of IoT on the global economy in the $trillions, and up to $120 billion to the Australian economy by 2025.

About IoTAA

The vision of IoTAA is to empower industry to grow Australia’s competitive advantage through IoT.

IoTAA has over 450 members from approximately 200 organisations across its six workstreams.

IoTAA was incorporated as a not-for-profit entity in July 2016, emerging from the Communications Alliance IoT Think Tank, established in 2015. IoTAA is hosted and supported by the University of Technology, Sydney (UTS) at its Broadway Campus in Sydney.

Contact: Leonie Hellmers, IoTAA, leonie.hellmers@uts.edu.au